narwhals & toothbrushes

One of the things I enjoy most in life is finding unexpected nuggets in my day that make me smile, laugh or look at the world differently. Like NPR’s article this week The elusive narwhal what an amazing creature- the unicorn of the sea!  My friend G who was over that morning heard me squeal with delight as I scanned the article on NPR’s website looking for more pictures. “aren’t you scared of that ugly thing?” she eyed me quizzically, brows raised like I had just told her I was planning to make a pet of it in my bathtub. “no way! They’re incredible. Plus, they only live in Antartica and Greenland so I don’t need to worry about one of them gliding up & spearing me while I’m swimming in lake Michigan.” I especially felt endeared to the narwhal after his claymation appearance in the movie ELF

Recently my friends E & J went to an art show at the UICA in Grand Rapids for their fashion show “Recycled Runway” featuring designers who used items destined for the dump some chic garb.  I wish I had taken some pictures of the actual creations made from target bags, cd’s and lifejackets.  After enjoying some deeelish nosh like baby beets dipped in carmel & pecans(don’t hate, it was really good!)  from local restaurant 616 we headed inside to the exhibit Material Afterlife featuring artists from across the country who “explore material use in society”. Below are some fun shots of the evening:

this is the toothbrush equivalent of the leg lamp from "A Christmas Story"

this is the toothbrush equivalent of the leg lamp from "A Christmas Story"

I brush my tooth, I brush it good, I brush it with tooothpaste!

I brush my tooth, I brush it good, I brush it with tooothpaste!

This artist had cataloged toothbrushes she had collected from across the country for what looked like 30 years and described their use, store of purchase or person who had given her the toothbrush in two big black binders that stood on pedestals next to the wall of toothbrushes.

this is our best "blue steel" face. Though I do think E in the middle is doing "la-tigre"

this is our best "blue steel" face. Though I do think E in the middle is doing "la-tigre"

caps, caps for sale

caps, caps for sale

The piece on the right is one of my favorites of the exhibit.  Random caps of things sorted by color- this was like a cap mosaic. I love when artists take junk and make them into something beautiful! If I was a different type of Christian I’d get all cheesy and spiritual here & say something like: “taking trash and making it into something beautiful just like Jesus does for us!” But I won’t 😉 Sometimes I think Christians can over-spiritualize things rather than just simply enjoy the ordinary beauty of the contrasting colors of bottle caps piled up against one another.

What has been something ordinary that made you smile recently?

4 thoughts on “narwhals & toothbrushes

  1. I saw the cutest, tiny snail this morning while running. The entire thing was smaller than the circumference of a dime. For some reason, it made me smile the entire time I was out. And, I would LOVE to see a narwhal!

  2. Thought of this post while we were in London at the Tate Modern (art museum). There was a piece that was this incredible long string of soaps. It was hung from the ceiling and really quite pretty!

Leave a Reply

