all we need is just a little patience

It’s only 11am and today has been a really rough day.  Things just seem to pile up when even just one thing is going poorly. I was thrilled to see the sunshine on this brilliant yet cool morning as I settled onto my porch with my coffee, journal & bible, watching kids with their little backpacks set out for the walk to school.  I was trying to meditate and pray and just invite Jesus to calm my heart and mind.  But all I could hear was the guys down the street yelling at each other while they leaned over the hood of one of their cars. And the giant blue compost truck with Ms. Compost scrawled across its side loudly roared down the street breaking the silence.  I thought to myself- “o.k. Lord, I know you’re here even amidst the noise, help me to be present to you.”  I ended up going inside where I could more fully enter into prayer and meditation and ended the time with a considerably more peaceful heart.

Then Dave and Reuben got home from a jog. Though Reuben was doing really great with potty training over the past week & 1/2 he’s seemed to willfully resist going telling us when he needs to go to the potty. In the past hour & 1/2 he’s peed through 3 pairs of pants looking at me and saying “I’m going pee-pee! That’s gross!” We’ve continued to try and reinforce his success of being clean and dry by rewarding him with m&m’s but even this doesn’t seem to interest him lately. Then as Dave was changing his last pair of pants he took a giant dump on the floor. I just felt like crying. Thankfully my kind husband cleaned him up while I said a prayer for patience as a mom.

That’s when the I found some encouragement in the form of Axl Rose:

Hmmm, is this coincidence or divine providence that Axl is wearing a shirt with Jesus on it? Though I can’t speak for his red short-shorts.  For whatever reason this was the prayer the Lord gave me today in the form of G&R lyrics “said woman take it slow & it’ll be alright, all we need is just a little patience.” I have no idea why Jesus so often reminds me of his truth in the form of pop culture. Maybe it’s because he knows that the words of Axl echo scripture; so, chosen by God for this new life of love, dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you: compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline. Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to forgive an offense. Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you. And regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It’s your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it. (Col. 3:12) Even if he didn’t realize it when he wrote “Patience” all truth echos God’s truth. So that’s what I’m praying that the Lord will give me a little patience with my young son. I hope & pray that you too find patience today with whatever challenges you face in your job, with your family or even negative thoughts that weigh you down.

One thought on “all we need is just a little patience

  1. awww, I’m sorry, Jess… this is really is “one of those days.” I’m so glad you look to the LORD though, if you didn’t your day would be infinitely more crappy.

    As an aside, God often speaks to me through Rihanna songs! 🙂 especially, “Umbrella.”

    … “I told you I’ll be here forever, said I’ll always be your friend, took an oath I’d stick out till the end.”

Leave a Reply

