I love you, man! (the sermon)

What do Peter Klaven from “I love you, man”  and Peter from scripture have in common? Take a listen to my blog post today & find out!

Paul Rudd & Jason Segal as Peter and Sydney. Best Bro Friends Forever.

Paul Rudd & Jason Segal as Peter and Sydney. Best Bro Friends Forever.

This is about a 15 minute long “sermonette” that I had to preach for a class I took this past spring at Wheaton Graduate School on the Gospel & pop culture.  This was by far one of my favorite classes, mostly because I love pop culture and watching movies.  Our professor Rick Richardson even gave us popcorn money for this class assignment- how sweet is that?! Our groups in class had to pick a movie & discuss the spiritual themes behind it.  This is the thing I love about pop culture- though it may be couched in peep & fart jokes the best movies connect with our deepest longings, like the longing for friendship in I love you, Man.

Though I really enjoyed this movie a lot, it’s not for everyone.  So, while I did preach about this movie I am not saying that everyone should go out and see it.  If you get offended by potty humor- rent Wall-E instead.  I just think people, and Christians should explore the things that really connect with a broad audience. I believe that filmmakers and musicians are more relevant modern-day prophets that speak of the truth inside all of us and in the world than most preachers do on a Sunday morning. So stop, listen and enjoy.  As the reformed theologian Abraham Kuyper said, There is not a square inch in the whole domain of our human existence over which Christ, who is Sovereign over all, does not cry: ‘Mine!'” That includes bromance films and the wonderfully hilarious people who created them.

One thought on “I love you, man! (the sermon)

  1. Interesting parallel between Peter and Peter. It’s such a paradox for Jesus to call Peter the rock. Just like he calls me daughter and holy despite my sinfulness.

Leave a Reply

