friday fluff day (aka- jillian, boots, leeks)

This week felt craaazy long! Good thing I had the tears of Jillian, the inspiration of sweet leather boots & the yumminess of leeks to help see me through.

So- did anyone watch The Biggest Loser (TBL) premiere this week? I was starting to feel a cold beginning to set in so I curled up on the couch & caught the last 1/2 of TBL and was ASTOUNDED to see Jillian crying during the weigh in! TBL is the only reality TV I watch, mostly because I love seeing how as people’s external worlds are transformed by weight loss, their internal world changes too & they begin to become a different person. Also, this past spring I met Pete Thomas at one of my friends birthday parties & got to hear about his experience as a contestant on TBL.  Pete is a cool guy despite the fact that he roots for U of M!

Abby (below), one of this season’s contestants shared that despite personal tragedy of losing people close to her, she wanted to press on in her life to be her best self and that death would be an easier option than doing the hard work of losing weight.

Abby's determination brought Jillian to tears during her weigh in this past Tuesday

Abby's determination brought Jillian to tears during her weigh in this past Tuesday

As Abby worked through her tears Jillian teared up & shared “I’ve always said, if I lost someone close to me, I would just kill myself. Watching Abby walk through her losses and press on will make me a stronger person too.” Wow. It’s moments like this that really hit me- Jillian is famous, beautiful, healthy, rich & accomplished….

the infamous Jillian Michaels!

the infamous Jillian Michaels!

…and yet she still said she’d kill herself if someone close to her died. After watching this my two thoughts were- despite all you have in life no amount of stuff, beauty or accomplishments can take the place of people you love. No amount of stuff can help us cope with personal tragedy when we are grieving- not even someone like Jillian. My second thought was that I am AMAZED at the human capacity for hope! I’m speaking at U of M Flint on the topic “is there hope” in a few weeks & so I’ve been thinking a lot about hope lately.  Abby lost her family in a car accident yet she is still hoping for a full & healthy life.  This just seems like the grace of God helping Abby to press on & the grace of God to Jillian to see someone else pressing on despite tragedy. This is also why we need community- to help us keep on’ keepin’ on when we are giving up hope. I was inspired!

On to more fluff!! There are a million things I could write about why I love September and autumn in general, but one of my other favorite things is the transition from flip-flops to boots! I have always been a bit of a shoe horse & God knows where I’d be if I actually made enough money to indulge in the footwear I ogle online when I’m fantasizing about the latest pair of Manolo’s! Here are a couple that I’m really digging right now:

macys.com- these would be so cute with leggings & a dress!

macys.com- these would be so cute with leggings & a dress!

i love these cowboy boots! They would look so cute with a pair of electric blue tights I have.

i love these cowboy boots! They would look so cute with a pair of electric blue tights I have.

payless.com- I'm always surprised what kind of cute stuff payless has.

payless.com- I'm always surprised what kind of cute stuff payless has.

Ahhhh. I could look at boots/try on boots/dream about boots all day. Whenever Dave and I visit his family in Ithaca, NY I love going to Fontana’s Shoes in collegetown next to Cornell. They have an amazing selection of beautiful footwear. One Christmas awhile ago my in-laws took me there to pick out a pair of boots for myself after the ones they ordered online for me didn’t fit. I happily ended up with these:

the "tetra launch" cute, weatherproff & goretex lines- what more could you ask for?

the "tetra launch" cute, weatherproff & goretex lines- what more could you ask for?

Shoes have been and probably will be one of my favorite presents to receive 🙂 My brother gave me a pair of sling-back maryjanes for Christmas when I was in 10th grade- still probably one of my favorite gifts, along with the pair of boots pictured above 🙂 Thanks guys for hooking me up with snazzy footwear!

On to the leeks!..

One of my commitments during strive for five during the month of September is to try a new fruit or veggie each week.  We started getting leeks in our CSA share & though I’ve eaten things with leeks in them, I’ve never cooked one myself.  This is again where I love the Simply in Season cookbook- it tells you how to process each of the fruits and veggies that are in the recipes in the cookbook. I decided to make potato leek soup from In Season cookbook this week.

freak-a-leek

freak-a-leek

chopped & simmering.....

chopped & simmering.....

The onion-y smell of the leek and the potatoes cooking together brought back memories of my Grandmother Leep’s kitchen. She was the wife of a potato farmer & always had something delicious on the stove. The soup ended up being velvety creamy & tasted great with the loaf of rye bread I had made in our bread machine earlier that day. We also had some sliced yellow tomatoes & cucumbers on the side.

you could probably leave it chunky but it was so deliciously creamy after blending it.

you could probably leave it chunky but it was so deliciously creamy after blending it.

i loves me some rye bread....

i loves me some rye bread....

If you’re interested in making this, or a soup like it, check allrecipes.com for potato leek soup options. Or just see if your local library has this cookbook like I did.

So, what celeb stories/tv shows/fashion/recipes have you been enticed by this week? What are you looking forward to this weekend? On Saturday my family & I are going apple picking at an orchard- hopefully we’ll still be able to snag some peaches & raspberries too! Happy Friday!

2 thoughts on “friday fluff day (aka- jillian, boots, leeks)

  1. project runway ~ ahhh, I’m in love.

    you’ll be happy to know the other day I was inspired to thrive for 5 & added fresh onions & tomatoes to my grilled cheese & then had a heaping portion of grapes on the side instead of chips. We also sliced up peaches for dinner instead of the same ole ‘peas with butter’ on the side. Thanks for the inspiration!

    as for boots… i’m so torn! i love boots but I get really sad when this weather rolls around. ;( love your picks though!

Leave a Reply

