Friday fluff-“as seen on TV”

Have you ever been to a place you’ve seen on TV or in the movies your whole life? Was it as cool as you thought it would be when you went there?

Recently a friend tagged me in a photo of this:

"there's always money in the banana stand"

"there's always money in the banana stand"

This is a frozen banana stand on Balboa Island. For those of you who aren’t familar with the show Arrested Development the characters in the show own a frozen banana stand & talk a lot about family responsibilities in staffing said banana stand. My friend wrote under the picture: “balboa island is just how i imagined it. (it’s where lucille lives on arrested development.) hello george michael bluth!”

What is it about seeing things in person that we’ve seen on TV? Maybe it’s something about feeling part of something bigger or validation that there is truth in fiction (the banana stand is real!!!)

When Dave and I were on a road trip to New York a few years ago we were on the highway and I saw this:

anyone remember the episode of SATC where the girls go to Richard's beach house in the Hampty-hamps?

anyone remember the episode of SATC where the girls go to Richard's beach house in the Hampty-hamps?

I was so excited you would have thought I spotted Sarah Jessica Parker in the flesh playing Carrie Bradshaw!

SJP- a fashion inspiration to me and so many others....ahh the shoes, the shoes.

SJP- a fashion inspiration to me and so many others....ahh the shoes, the shoes.

A few of my other “as seen on TV” moments have been:

  • When a colleague and I visited Miller Brewing Company in Milwaukee killing time before we caught the ferry across Lake MI. All I could think about as I saw bottle after bottle of miller light, natural light & other famous beers of Milwaukee traveling down a conveyor belt was “SchlemielSchlimazelHasenpfeffer Incorporated!” Anyone know what TV show that’s from? Here’s a clue:
    "we're gonna make our dreams come true! we're gonna do it!"

    "we're gonna make our dreams come true! we're gonna do it!"

    I actually asked our tour guide, “do you have any Laverne and Shirley memorabilia in your gift shop?” As soon as the question left my mouth I realized how incredibly lame that was. I was pleasantly surprised when the tour guide told me that was one of their frequent questions on the tour since Miller was the real brewing company that the fictional brewing company Laverne and Shirley worked at in the show.

Funny enough the same colleague and I were on another trip to California driving to LA and then San Diego to visit other InterVarsity chapters. As we passed exits for Ventura boulevard, drove down Interstate 5, we started singing Sheryl Crow’s “I wanna soak up the song” and any Tom Petty song we could remember. Being in California brings all these songs, movie scenes or TV episodes clearly into memory. Like this shot that one of my friends AC Slater put on her blog when she was getting ready for a trip to San Francisco: 800px-PaintedLadies(5)Who remembers which 1980’s sitcom this is from?

I think the reason seeing these places or people in real life is so exciting is because it’s like meeting a pen-pal (whoa-that’s a dated phrase)in person. You’ve seen their pictures, know their likes and dislikes and yet the first time you see them, you experience them in a whole new way.

So, where have been some places you’ve been that you’d seen on TV or movies? Where would you want to go that you’ve seen on TV or in the movies? I think it would be pretty cool to see where they filmed this:

I'll give you my vial of felix felicis if you can guess what scene this movie is from.

I'll give you my vial of felix felicis if you can guess what scene this movie is from.

3 thoughts on “Friday fluff-“as seen on TV”

  1. Oops–just looked up “felix felicis”. My guess is wrong. (Though it does look like a chess game is going on there, and it does look like the building that the final tournament in “Bobby Fischer” takes places in).

    I should say too that though it’s not along the same idea as your showbiz-related examples, I found seeing and walking across the Edmund Pettus Bridge a profound experience.

Leave a Reply

