I’m feeling nervous to Breathe

This weekend my kind friend and author Lorilee Craker is taking me to the Breathe writers conference.  I am feeling so excited and nervous to go! Here are the reasons I feel nervous:

  • People who are serious about writing go to writers conferences. This commits me to being more serious and intentional about writing. This is scary. This is taking a step towards a dream rather than just dreaming.
  • Will I seem like a poser amongst serious writers? I know not everyone there will be a published author, but it is still a little intimidating to be with so many gifted people!
  • Will I discover that I don’t have what it takes to be a writer after all? Sure, I can crack out a few blogs about eating healthy or weird websites, but to pursue an actual in-the-flesh-paper-book that is authored by moi? That feels WAAAY bigger and more scary.
hmmm, I suppose if Ms. Piggy can write a book, little old moi could as well...

hmmm, I suppose if Ms. Piggy can write a book, little old moi could as well...

Here is why I’m excited.

  • I’m hoping that going to Breathe amongst other things will help me to focus on what I’d like to write. I have a lot of ideas buzzing around my head- everything from books on postmodern evangelism, to stories of growing up in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan to essays similar to what I write on my blog. Part of why I started this blog is just to have a place to write & see what comes out. It’s been a little like a mental mirror for me to have a place where my thoughts are reflected back to me and to see how people interact with my ideas. I’ll admit it- I’m a comment glutton- I love-love-love when people comment on my posts because it affirms that I’m connecting with people. That’s half the fun of blogging!
  • mirror, mirror on the blog am I a writer or is this a mental monologue?

    mirror, mirror on the blog am I a writer or is this a silly monologue?

  • I’m actually going to have space in my life to write while I’m on sabbatical starting in January. Starting now on focusing on what project I want to write will enable me to start soon rather than dithering around to figure out what I want to write when I have the space to do so. In fact, my friend Beth has already begun to help me do this, which I’m really grateful for.
  • I love networking! It is always so stimulating being around people who are interested in pursuing the same things yet may have a very different perspective than I do. I’m also just looking forward to hanging out with Lorilee because she’s a whole barrel of Canadian fun.

It starts tomorrow Friday at noon and goes until Saturday afternoon, so I’ll probably blog about it after I attend rather than during. So wish me luck- say a little prayer & ask me how it went next week!

Anne Lamott, one of my writing inspirations. Her book "Bird by Bird" on writing is so great.

Anne Lamott, one of my writing inspirations. Her book "Bird by Bird" on writing is so great.

6 thoughts on “I’m feeling nervous to Breathe

  1. Oh Jessica – you’re gong to LOVE it! And don’t worry… “official” writers aren’t any different than you are. They just found someone to print their thoughts. You’re not pledging an exclusive writing sorority, you’re meeting interesting people and learning in community. Have a fantabulous time!

  2. have fun, chica-a-leek. If I weren’t, ya know, 39 weeks & 5 days pregnant, I’d be right there with you soaking up the writing fun! I have a feeling this is going to be so good for you, so take in every moment. And take good notes if your in the mood, I’d love to learn all the cool things you got to help inspire me to write during my maternity leave.

    Write & be merry! 😉

  3. Have fun kitch! You are (and always have been) a fabulous writer…I’m so glad you’re taking a step toward realizing your dream! I love that you always have something interesting and relevant to say no matter what the topic. Go for it, and please can I have a signed copy of your book when it gets published? ;o) Looking forward to hearing about your weekend! Oh and don’t worry, I think EVERYONE love comments! I’m like that with my photos too!

  4. Jealous.
    And excited for you.
    I think you have what it takes to be a writer. Yeah, devotionals are all good and fun, and you’d do great, but I really want to read your book about da U.P., eh! I bet it could get on NPR… 🙂

  5. Have fun! I would have loved to go with you – maybe next year! I’m sure you will leave motivated and excited to write even more. Would love to bump into you on Sunday and hear how it went! 🙂

  6. Pingback: I’m so glad I decided to Breathe « Sidewalk Theologian

Leave a Reply

