homemade halloween

Here is a visual summary of my weekend of homemade goodness.

IMG_5869

Reuben was slightly squeamish about the pumpkin guts....but not for long....

IMG_5876

covered in pumpkin guts!

IMG_5878

chocolate cream, coconut cream, lemon meringue

I baked three pies.  Two were my grandmother’s favorite- coconut cream and lemon meringue. Grandma has good taste in pies. The other was for my friend Brad’s ordination party. Way to go Brad!

IMG_5882

it was as if my fridge shelf was designed to be a receptacle for pies

I made some artwork to decorate our newly painted bedroom. We have $0 for a decorating budget so I got creative and expressed my growing fixation with peacocks by making these:

IMG_0729

IMG_0728

You don't need a fat bank account to make cool things! Just a little creativity and some free time.

IMG_0730

all together now.

I was very pleased with how these turned out & how they look against the new lemongrass color of our walls. Now I just need to find/make some drapes! It only took us 7 years to get around to painting our bedroom 🙂

Lastly we made some halloween costumes from one of our favorite movies, The Royal Tennenbaums.

IMG_0456

"margot tennenbaum was known for her extreme secrecy"

IMG_0463

Dave busted out his sewing machine to make Ritchie's shirt. my husband has mad skillz yo.

Lastly, we took our little cutie trick-or-treating in our hood where he made out like a bandit. He caught on very quickly that if you said the phrase “trick or treat” people give you lots of candy. Yay America.

IMG_0443

"mama, stop taking pictures of me and let me eat some candy!"

Yay for fun homemade goodness! What kinds of things do you like to make yourself?

7 thoughts on “homemade halloween

  1. nice job on the peacock art! i’m a big fan of making your own art for home decor. 🙂 oh and as usual, reuben is adorable.

  2. Man, you had a crazy productive weekend!
    Love Reuben’s costume, and love yours and Dave’s even more! Very well done!!
    And your peacock art is FAB.

    In regards to your question, I like to make everything myself. Current project: making a painted door into a stained oak one.

    I have never had much luck with making my own Halloween costume. I’d make one, and no one would know who I was supposed to be. I’ve tried Scarlett O’Hara, bride of frankenstein, Nancy Drew, etc. All, FAIL. That’s why I’m so impressed with yours!

  3. LOVE the creativity… impressed with the pies… you make an awesome Tenebaum, LOVE!!!! the peacock art… super sweet, man! & Ruebe Tuesday is a doll in that pic of you holding him up with the pumkin guts on him. You really should frame that one! your pretty freakin’ awesome, Jess!

  4. Pingback: I’m so thankful I’m poor « Sidewalk Theologian

Leave a Reply

