being thankful is a bezoar

I so don’t want to write this post. Even though I’ve dedicated this months Sidewalk Theologian challenge to practicing thankfulness, I feel bitter & crusty today and just want to read my latest copy of Entertainment Weekly about the new Twilight movie and wallow. Bezoar is my word I use instead of swearing- I learned about in Harry Potter- anyone remember which book it was from? This summer Dave and I were hanging out with our friend Jess who is studying vet. science at Cornell & we learned that a bezoar is a real thing!  I am impressed by both J.K. Rowling and Jess’ smartness.

O.K. back to being thankful while crusty. I don’t really want to recount the reasons of said crustyness today but the gist is encompassed in this haiku:

funding falling through
mess in the home overwhelms
too much work remains

Tonight I forced myself to spend 15 minutes doing dishes even though I have 900 pages of reading for class, a talk to prep for Thursday and the rest of my home to clean and the list goes on! So I put on Gwen Stefani on Pandora radio while I cleaned what absolutely was all of our pots and pans which somehow we’ve managed to dirty in the 2 days we’ve been home. I was thinking about this post & how I was dreading writing it because I just don’t feel thankful today even though I’m supposed to blog about thankfulness today. I was scrubbing a spatula when the Black Eyed Peas “where is the love?” came on. It brought me back to this spring when I preached the book of Phillipians to 200 college students with InterVarsity. I used the song on one of the nights as a way to help students think about how they’re showing God’s love to others in the midst of a messed up, broken world.  The last night of the conference I preached on Phillipians chapter 4 which has the verse:

“Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

When I was studying these passages of scripture this spring, I found it so interesting that the recommendation for an anxious heart is thanksgiving. Not just prayer, but prayer with thanksgiving. Apparently, Jesus doesn’t like my crustiness either 😉 So here’s my challenge to you & to me this week- be thankful in response to your crusty anxious heart. Tonight, right before I go to bed, I’m going to bust out the new green (of course green!) journal Dave bought me and write down five things I’m thankful for. If you’re a spiritual person, or a person who follows Jesus, why not write out a prayer thanking God for the ways he cares for you? It can’t hurt right?

I know that you could probably list a whole lot of stuff you’re feeling bitter & crusty about too. But let’s fight all those anxieties that bubble to the surface of our minds by practicing thankfulness together even when it’s the last thing we want to do.

To help you on your way to thankfulness here is a silly video I just find myself bizzarly drawn to time and time again. Reuben also really likes it. Enjoy and be thankful for crazy kids who narrate kitten books.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “being thankful is a bezoar

  1. “”the recommendation for an anxious heart is thanksgiving”

    Thanks for that reminder- even after digging into Philippians this weekend I hadn’t pulled that out of there & it really was just what I needed to hear after having quite a few anxious days in a row…

  2. sorry things are hard, Jess. 😦 i’m thankful you were still able to churn out a post about being thankful even in the midst of a crust-a-liscious day …that shows God’s grace on ya & it’s a good reminder for the rest of us crusties.

    btw, that video is really cute.

  3. I love Haiku and kittens!
    I did your homework from last week. I liked how I had to also think of things that I WASN’T thankful for. Then I could see how while I thought I was a cool, thankful person, that I’m also a jerky-Mc-jerkems unthankful person at the same time. And so now I have MORE homework for myself, which is to not be as unthankful.

  4. Bezoars appear in the first, fourth, and sixth HP books–Snape asks Harry where one can be found in the first, Harry forgets to add one to some a potion in the fourth, and Harry uses one to save Ron’s life in the sixth. 🙂

    • hey- are you reading through all my old blogs? I posted that one a waaay long time ago 🙂 thanks for dropping the bezoar knowledge on the blog 🙂

      • I may or may not have spent a good chunk of my day off today reading through your archives… I’ve been toying with the idea of starting my own, so I thought I would look at yours for some ideas and inspiration.

Leave a Reply

