dinner insurance

Ever since my mother-in-law encouraged me to think of November-February as the “cozy months” it’s helped me to think about all the things I enjoy about winter. After our CSA ended I was lamenting the end of fresh lettuce, herbs and all the other weekly goodies we recieved. However, after freezing everything we gleaned recently I am excited about ways to work in 5 fruits/veggies a day through SOUP! Check out our haul. We pretty much froze all of this stuff to throw into soups later this winter.

Tonight I made one of my favorite healthy/cheap/quick soups that I saw on The Biggest Loser a year ago- Tiny Turkey Meatball soup. This has been one of my quick go-to soups when I need something easy to make & it freezes well too. Which brings me to the title of my post- I don’t know about you but when winter hits my motivation to eat well mostly revolves around the amount of protein I get in a piece of pecan pie. It’s dark and cold & way too easy to hunker down with some take-out instead making cheaper and healthier options.  So here is a recipe that you can make, eat, freeze half and thaw when the craving for pizza hits for the third night in a row. For single people- you can freeze this in clean, recycled yogurt containers, it’s about 2 portions.

Here is the recipe with my less bougie mods below.

Yield: Serves 4, 289 calories/serving

Tiny Turkey Meatball Soup
Ingredients:

  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 cups low-fat salt-free marinara
  • One 15 ounce can low-sodium chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • Crushed red pepper flakes to taste
  • 1-1/3 pound package ground lean turkey
  • Nu-Salt
  • ½ pound broccoli rabe, cut into bite size pieces
  • 2 tablespoons grated pecorino romano

Instructions

  1. Heat a large pot over high heat with chicken broth, marinara sauce, beans and crushed red pepper flakes until mixture comes to a simmer
  2. While mixture comes to a simmer, season ground turkey with Nu-Salt and pepper flakes
  3. Roll turkey into about 40 meatballs
  4. Next, stir broccoli rabe into the broth and bring to a simmer
  5. Add meatballs to the broth, cover pan with lid and lightly poach the meatballs until just cooked through, stirring occasionally for about 6 minutes
  6. The broth should barely simmer
  7. Check soup for seasoning
  8. Ladle into 4 large bowls and top with pecorino
  9. Although no actual salt is called for in this recipe, please add it as you see fit

My modifications:
I use regular marinara sauce, and normal chicken broth. Instead of broccoli rabe, I throw in whatever greens I have- spinach or kale usually. I like the chickpeas in the soup, but tonight I used kidney beans because I didn’t have any in my cupboard. The chickpeas do add a nicer flavor but the kidney beans did in a pinch! I typically use parmesan instead of pecorino.  Enjoy cozying up with some yummy soup in the next couple weeks! What are some of your favorite/healthy recipes for winter! Post the links & share them to keep the strive for five going!

3 thoughts on “dinner insurance

  1. Wow! That is a real harvest gift! You have a great idea about making soups to keep up the yummy healthy eating and feel warm and cozy. I’m on with you in strive for five in winter.
    We continue to harvest beets, chard, carrots, brussel sprouts, collards , kale, colrabi, broccoli and rutabaga from our garden.
    I cover the chard, beets and brussel sprouts when the temp. dips at night to below freezing. 4:15PM is the time I take 3 old sheets and cover up our yummies!
    Love,
    Mom Fick

Leave a Reply

