what does your strongest life look like?

A few weeks ago I invited women to join me in the challenge of reading “Find Your Strongest Life” by Marcus Buckingham.  Did anyone take me up on the challenge?  Perhaps you’ve been too busy living your life to stop, read & find out about how to strengthen it :).

If you are intrigued by this book, but only have like, 5 minutes to spare, take the quiz to see if this book is something that you may want to read when you have a little more time. I am always eager to take quizzes in my perpetual quest of self-discovery and am always slightly disappointed that I don’t learn more about myself.  However, I do think every thing we do to discover how God has wired us is a good thing.  If you took the quiz, what did you come out as? I was pegged as a teacher/equalizer. I think I have some of the qualities found in influencer and advisor as well.  Do you ever feel like skewing the results so you come out as what you want to be/be perceived as rather than what you actually might be?

What do you think some of your strengths are? One of the things I’ve appreciated about Marcus Buckingham’s books is that they provide a language to talk about strengths in a way that is accurate- not bragadocius or prideful, but reflective of the unique strengths each of us bring to the table. I love the whole concept of strength based leadership- I know I’ve been given the passion/skills/strength to become an awesome public speaker/preacher but I will never have a filing system or linen closet that is envied by anyone. The great thing is these books support the idea that I should spend my time developing what I’m good at rather than stressing about the fact that my hand-towels, table cloths and christmas decor is all jumbled together. I would rather spend my time writing a sermon anyways 🙂

3 thoughts on “what does your strongest life look like?

  1. JB got me the book as a VDay present, but I returned it because I don’t feel comfortable spending $30 on a book. My book obsession makes me want several for that price. But I did skim through it and may borrow from the library.

    I am a Teacher/Creator. Not a surprise. But now I want to get paid to CREATE for a living, instead of typing meeting minutes or something like that. Marcus has made me snobby about job choices. 😉

    I, too, like how the book has you focus on and praise your strengths, instead of getting down on yourself for weaknesses. We’re all awesome. Let’s be excited about that.

    And I will help you organize your linen closet if you want. haha.

  2. I DO want to do this book with you! I was intrigued when I saw the post about a week ago. I feel so busy to even think about buying it right now, I must finish up this conference this weekend before I can do anything else!! anyway, I just took the free test: pioneer/motivator. Interesting, but true results…

    My lead role: pioneer
    You are, by nature, an explorer, excited by things you haven’t seen before, people you haven’t yet met. Whereas others are intimidated by the unfamiliar, you are intrigued by it.

    Your best quality:
    Your willingness to risk

    Always:
    Seek out situations where things become obsolete very quickly

    Be careful you:
    Don’t move on so quickly that you gain a reputation as a dilettante

    Your smartest career move:
    Any job where you’re paid to build something out of nothing

    My supporting role: motivator

    You are acutely aware of the energy in the room, and you feel compelled to do what you can to elevate it. You do this with your outlook—you are an instinctively optimistic person.

    Your best quality:
    Your infectious energy

    Always:
    Step in and take responsibility for the group

    Be careful you:
    Don’t get sucked dry by emotional vampires

    Your smartest career move:
    Any job where you’re paid to keep a group of people excited.

    Looks like I’m in a perfect role as the BCM Coordinator… trying to get a very few amount of people excited about something that’s not there!!! 🙂

  3. Ha. Sounds like I’ll be with IV for a while.

    MOTIVATOR
    You are acutely aware of the energy in the room, and you feel compelled to do what you can to elevate it. You do this with your outlook—you are an instinctively optimistic person.

    Your best quality:
    Your infectious energy

    Always:
    Step in and take responsibility for the group

    Be careful you:
    Don’t get sucked dry by emotional vampires

    Your smartest career move:
    Any job where you’re paid to keep a group of people excited.

Leave a Reply

