february good reads

Most of this month has been spent reading books for my two classes at Wheaton next week. I really enjoy studying, especially if I give myself enough time to actually read the material instead of cram it.  I wish I had started a little earlier on The Help, the book my book club is discussing this Friday. I’m only 20 pages in and it’s already so good!

My brain has been so full this month I haven’t been thinking about much else besides the content of the books. Here is what a few of the books from the syllabus & my favorite picks from the bunch:

Telling the Truth- The Gospel as Comedy, Tragedy and Fairy Tale by Frederick Buechner. Want to know how much of a nerd I am? I emailed the professor for my class asking to read a different book than Telling the Truth since it had been assigned for two other classes. He never emailed me back . I suppose I shouldn’t complain- it’s less work to do.
The Knowledge of the Holy by A.W. Tozer
Many of my friends and colleagues are into Tozer and this book was intriguing. However as a practitioner it was a little too cerebral for my liking.
Searching for God Knows What by Donald Miller
This book just horribly depressed me, even in the midst of Millers fabulous writing style. Too much depravity, not enough redemption. He does describe depravity beautifully though.

Becoming a Contagious Christian by Bill Hybels and Mark Mittelberg
In classic Bill Hybels style this was kind of a “duh!” book. He makes ministry principles and practice so easy to comprehend which is his genius!
The Leadership Secrets of Billy Graham by Myra and Shelley
I LOVED this book and was so inspired by reading not just about the life of Billy Graham but the inner values that guided his life and leadership.  I’d highly recommend this book for anyone looking for leadership inspiration and guidance.
7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Steven R. Covey
This book brought me back to 1996 when my mom started using phrases like “paradigm shift” and “mission statement” around the house  I think she had attended a leadership seminar where his principles were taught & suddenly I found myself with a maroon day planner that was supposed to organize my life. Thank God for PDA’s- I’ve always been terrible with paper. Now, as a parent, manager and leader this book was amazingly helpful thinking through the values I want to govern my life and leadership. I can’t wait to see what Dr. Lon Allison teaches us in class next week!

I haven’t read much for pleasure since I’ve been reading for class. However, I always enjoy my dose of Entertainment Weekly ! I’m so sad I’ll be driving to Wheaton on Sunday night instead of watching the Oscars- the movie buff’s equivalent of the superbowl.

Leave a Reply

